A Recent Expedition Bears Strange Fruit

January 20, 2008

Murderer's Row

As the Soda Jerk, I scour the globe to find the most exotic flavors of sugar water available. My most recent excursion took me into the heart of the Orient, by which I mean the Silver Wok grocery store in Chapel Hill. With a bevy of strange containers before me, I returned with the four soft drinks you see before you. I omitted the fifth can I purchased once I realized I’d accidentally bought coconut milk.

Stay tuned for the exciting details of these astonishing elixirs!

2 Responses to “A Recent Expedition Bears Strange Fruit”

  1. hillbillyraconteur said

    Read your ‘Suicide Chef’ piece in Opium, really enjoyed it.

    Try Ale-8-One, Kentucky’s own soft drink — good stuff. http://ale8one.com/ I’m a bit biased, being a Kentucky girl. But it’ll blow yer hair back.

  2. thesodajerk said

    Well thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed it šŸ™‚

    And thanks for the tip on Ale-8-One. I’m intrigued by the recipe section of their website. I think I’d like to try the pork chops with Asian Ale-8-One sauce.

Leave a comment