No sir, I don’t lychee it: Yeo’s Lychee Drink

January 29, 2008

Yeo's Lychee Drink: Contains no preservatives or redeeming qualities.Yeo’s Lychee Drink. Note that it’s not soda. It’s not juice. Nor is it a cocktail, elixir, potable, libation or tonic. It’s a drink, period. Beyond that, this Yeo character isn’t letting on. The can does boast that it’s an “Authentic Asian Drink,” so at least we know it wasn’t made by a bunch of Australian poseurs or something.

I’ve never eaten a lychee. I’m not even sure how to pronounce it. Frankly, I don’t want to know. What I do know is I felt like I was drinking a can of strawberry soda after leaving it open on the back porch overnight. I’m aware this drink isn’t carbonated. Yeo’s apparently isn’t aware that it should be. Gulping Lychee Drink is like mainlining the syrup they pour on a Hawaiian ice.

The Verdict

Yeo’s Lychee Drink gets a 3 out of 10, which is dangerously close to Diet Coke territory. Strangely enough, I’ve got a feeling combining the two would yield something tastier than the sum of its parts – not that that’s any real achievement, though.

6 Responses to “No sir, I don’t lychee it: Yeo’s Lychee Drink”

  1. Jen said

    I don’t get the reference in the title of this post. Is it a song?

  2. “No sir, I don’t like it” was the catchphrase of Mr. Horse on the old Ren & Stimpy cartoons. It’s admittedly pretty obscure, but I was really struggling to come up with a title for this, and I didn’t think “Me no lychee” would be appropriate.

  3. Dave said

    You may have a different opinion of Kai Lychee Vodka 🙂

  4. thesodajerk said

    Very possible. I feel like Lychee needs a collaborator to make a tasty beverage. Vodka is the ranch dressing of the liquor world – it goes well with just about everything. I’ll have to give it a try sometime.

  5. Rusty said

    Your correct Yeo’s Lychee Drink is a drink just like the can states. I think it taste great, just like the fruit. I found this web site as I was looking to see were I could purchase it locally as I like it so much. The can I had was given to me as a gift because a friend of mine new I liked Lychee fruit so much. I recomend everyone try it and give it a verdict of 8 out of 10. Too bad it’s not carbonated as I would then have to move it up the verdict scale further.

  6. Jason said

    Hmm well it does taste like lychee.. and I’m staring at the can on my desk at work right now feeling a little dissapointed myself.. but then again.. I’ve rarely had non-alcoholic lychee.

    My favourite lychee ‘drink’ would have to consist on:
    1 x shot Paraiso (Lychee Liquor)
    1 x shot Chambord – Yummy
    1 x shot vodka
    1 x lime wedge, squeezed.

    use a shaker to mix with a cup full of ice, pour into glass and top with Red Bull.

    tasty AND energizing! Fantastic!

Leave a comment